reply

Posted

print

favorite this post $40000 Work-to-Own Ozarks Farm Opportunity: 20 acres, beautiful view! (SW LaClede County) hide this posting unhide

123456789101112

land

Are you truly serious about country living? Do you have a great agricultural idea, backed by a written business plan, but lack the finances for land, infrastructure, and/or equipment? If you are organized, hard-working, and non-conventional, Falcon Ridge Farm is taking applications for the opportunity to work-to-own 20 +/- acres in the S/W corner of LaClede County, Missouri. The $40K piece of available land is 50/50 pasture & woods, fenced into two sections, with a year-round pond.

Your contribution of $400/month, plus about 20 hrs/wk of your hard work on the farm, will earn you this piece of paradise. You can even grow or raise your own ORGANIC agricultural products using the infrastructure and equipment of the property owner. And, while you're earning your land, the on-site 3 bedroom home is available for you to live-in!

Here's the infrastructure currently up and running on this property:
* 1250 sq.ft., 2-story, hand-hewn log cabin; 3 bdrm, 1 bath, partially furnished if needed
* Off-grid water, heat, some electric (though also still grid-tied)
* Uses a radiant-heat wood stove, but, is also whole-house ducted for a back-up propane furnace
* Fridge, stove/oven incl.
* A 1-acre garden with organic amended soils!
* Two small Orchards w/ apple, cherry, pear, peach, plum
* Small Herb garden with raised beds, and, a 3-bin compost unit
* Small hoop house for starting plants
* Two ponds, one stocked with bass and blue gill
* A 30-chicken coop plus several animal huts, pens, and sheds.
* Total property is appx. 20 acre woods, 20 acre pastures... fenced and cross-fenced into 8 sections, with water available in every pasture.
* Super-clean 300 foot well with solar well-pump
* Mark Twin Ntl. Forest is the "backyard" which means NO harmful run-off coming onto the farm or into the water!
* A true, Ozark million-dollar-view!
*A 50 hp ford tractor, mowers, tools, and gardening equipment

For ten years we raised and showed dairy goats, had a few family dairy cows, some free-roaming pigs and chickens, and always horses. But, my children are grown and in college now, and, it's a bit much for me to care for on my own. So, I've moved from the cabin into the barn-o-minium - the apartment in the shop-building. Now, the family home is open, and ready for its next chapter (as am I).

Before entering into a detailed, binding agreement, there will be a 2-month trial lease. During that time, all individuals will share in regular maintenance of the property; mowing, weed-whacking, fence-line maintenance, etc. This will be detailed in a written agreement between everyone included. There will be a minimum of $750 per month expected during this time, which can be included toward property down-payments. Lastly, I require a $500 deposit to cover any damages to the cabin should any agreements be cancelled. As well, there is a $100 per pet deposit for any dog or cat that spends ANY time indoors - with only two neutered/spayed dogs and/or cats allowed total. Any/all deposits are applicable toward the work-to-own agreement, and/or refundable after repairs, etc.

And, before entering into any agreement, everyone will have the opportunity to look into each other's background by providing the information necessary, like a full name and birth date. I will not allow anyone to live here who has any record of violence, or cruelty and/or negligence to animals.

This is NOT a property for puppy-millers, junk-car collectors, drug cookers, or hoarders. Stuff like batteries, boats, tools, etc. are NOT allowed to collect on the front porch, or in piles around the home or property. And, absolutely not allowed are in-tact fighting- or guard-dog breeds (like a Rottweiler, Akita, or Pit Bull).

Lastly, and this is important (because we'd be very close neighbors!), I will continue to live on the property, in the apartment in the shop and continue to store the farm-equipment in the shop. I am totally non-religious, a feminist, open-minded about race/gender pref., but also believe in some conservative values (ie., monogamy, structured home-schooling, and wearing clothes). I am looking for like-minded people who also are organic, self-sufficient, clean, kind, responsible.

For more information about this farm and myself you may search the internet for: Falcon Ridge Farm - Missouri, and Wendy Lombardi.

Please send me an email about yourself and any others who would be living on the property, even if part time (like children from previous marriage or regular visiting relatives). Let me know what recent experience you've had living rurally, what your goals are while living out in the country, and, what you're passionate about.

Emails only, thanks.
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 6757291567

posted:

updated:

best of [?]